May 30

With a career spanning over 37 years, Admiral Karambir Singh took over as the Chief of Naval Staff. Karambir Singh served as the Vice Chief of Naval Staff at the headquarters in New Delhi before moving to Vishakhapatnam last year as the Eastern Naval Commander. 

May 22

Supreme Court has reached its full sanctioned strength of 31 with appointment of 4 new judges to the apex court. The total sanctioned strength of Supreme Court is 31 (30 + 1), which includes 30 Supreme Court Judges and 1 Chief Justice of India (CJI). The length of their term is from their join in. The four newly appointed judges are- Justice Aniruddha Bose, Justice Surya Kant, Justice A S Bopanna and Justice B. R. Gavai.

May 21

A career diplomat Mueen ul Haq of Pakistan is appointed as the High Commissioner to India.

May 16

Retired judge of Indian Supreme Court Justice Madan Bhimrao Lokur has been appointed to the Supreme Court of Fiji. Justice Lokur is appointed as a judge of Supreme Court of Fiji’s non-resident panel. He will assume charge of his new role on 15 August 2019. He has been appointed in new role for a period of three years. 

May 12

Dia Mirza

Antonio Guterres, the United Nations (UN) Secretary-General, appointed 17 global figures as the new Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) advocates. China’s Alibaba Chief Jack Ma and Indian actress Dia Mirza are also included as the new SDG advocates. Jack Ma, the founder and Executive Chairman of Chinese MNC Alibaba Group has been an SDG Advocate since 2016.

May 6

Justice P.R. Ramachandra Menon now becomes 13th Chief Justice of Chhattisgarh High Court. He was sworn in as Chief Justice of Chhattisgarh High Court. State Governor Anandiben Patel at Raj Bhawan, Raipur administered oath of office and secrecy. The Chhattisgarh High Court is located at B Bodri District in Bilaspur, Chhattisgarh. 

May 4

Dr. Krishnamurthy Subramanian is appointed as twelfth (12) member of Advisory Council of Fifteenth (15th) Finance Commission. He is the present Chief Economic Advisor (CEA) to Central government. Advisory Council now has 12 members, which include noted economists. It was constituted in November 2017, to give recommendations for Fiscal matters and tax devolution and other fiscal matters for five fiscal years between 1st April 2020 and 31 March 2025.

May 3

US Air Force General Tod D. Wolters has been sworn in as the top military officer of the 29-nation NATO military alliance recently. The post has always been held by an American military officer. NATO (the North Atlantic Treaty Organization, also called the North Atlantic Alliance) is an intergovernmental military alliance between 29 North American and European countries. The organization implements the North Atlantic Treaty that was signed on 4 April 1949 in Washington D.C,U S A.