January 1

Indian-origin Saudi based entrepreneur appointed Major General of Kyrgyzstan.
An Indian-origin Saudi-based entrepreneur, Shaikh Rafik Mohammed, has been appointed Major General of Kyrgyzstan, by the Government of the Country.
He was invited for the prestigious military position in view of his earlier contribution to the country.
Shaikh Rafik Mohammed, hails from Kerala, was appointed Major General of Kyrgyzstan by Ali Mirza.
It is a rare military position occupied by an Indian in the Central Asian country. Indian-origin Shaikh Rafik Mohammed Appointed Major General of Kyrgyzstan
Rafik family resides in Dubai, holds Kyrgyzstan nationality conferred by its former President Kurmanbek Saliyevich Bakiyev.

January 2

Anil Khosla takes over as IAF Commander-in-Chief, Eastern Air Command.
Air Marshal Anil Khosla took over as Air Officer Commanding-in-Chief (AOC-in-C) Eastern Air Command.
An alumnus of National Defence Academy, Air Marshal Khosla was commissioned in the fighter stream of Indian Air Force in 1979 and has over 4000 hours of accident free flying record mainly on different variants of Jaguar, MiG-21 and Kiran aircraft.
He is equally experienced on both Ground attack and Air Defence roles with specialisation on maritime role. He was awarded Commandant's medal during Higher Command Course at Army War College.
The Air Officer has vast instructional experience and has been Directing Staff at prestigious institutions like Tactics and Combat Development Establishment (TACDE) and Flying Instructor School (FIS).

January 3

David R. Syiemlieh appointed new UPSC chairman.
Pranab Mukherjee has appointed Prof David R. Syiemlieh as the Chairman of the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) as per Article 316 of Constitution.
He will take over from Alka Sirohi and shall remain the head of the organisation till his retirement on January 21, 2018 or till further orders.
Prof David R. Syiemlieh is academician, author and historian. He is a former Vice Chancellor, Rajiv Gandhi University, Doimukh, Arunachal Pradesh.
He is author of several books and articles on the history of North East India. He is credited with discovering the date of death and other details of the last days of Tirot Sing, the Khasi chief of Nongkhlaw who resisted British colonial expansion.

RBI appoints Surekha Marandi as Executive Director.
The Reserve Bank of India has appointed Surekha Marandi as its Executive Director (ED) in place of U S Paliwal, who retired on December 31 last year.
Marandi, assumed charge, will look after Consumer Education and Protection Department, Financial Inclusion and Development Department.
She has also served on the Boards of United Bank and Bank of Baroda.
She has, over a span of three decades, served in regulatory and supervisory, financial inclusion and development and human resource management areas in the Reserve Bank.

January 4

S. Padmanabhan nominated as Chairman of Tata Power.
Tata Power has nominated S. Padmanabhan as chairman of the board of directors of the company.
S. Padmanabhan, additional director on the company’s board, has been nominated as Chairman of the board of directors of the company.
Last month, Mr. Padmanabhan was appointed the Additional Director. Mr. Padmanabhan has been associated with the Tata group for over 34 years.
Deepa Malik, Arunima Sinha brand ambassadors for NDMC Swachh initiative.
Apital city at par global standards, Rio Olympic medalist and Arjun Awardee Deepa Malik and first female amputee to climb Mount Everest, ArunimaSinha have been appointed as brand ambassadors for Swachh NDMC.
The declaration to this effect has been made by the New Delhi Municipal Council (NDMC) at a function presided over by Member Parliament,MeenakashiLekhi.
The Swachh ambassadors will take part in a sustained sanitation drive in different areas, to sensitise people from different walks of life to make sanitation a routine and regular exercise in their daily existence.

IBM India names Karan Bajwa as MD.
IBM has appointed Karan Bajwa as Managing Director of IBM India Pvt Ltd, succeeding Vanitha Narayanan who has been appointed as chairman of the Indian subsidiary.
Bajwa joined IBM in 2016 as Executive for Strategy and Transformation in the Asia Pacific region. He was earlier Managing Director, Microsoft India, besides leading the India business for the company, he also the led the cloud transition and the ecosystem engagement.
Bajwa had worked with IBM for five years leading the company’s networking business and based in Singapore from 2001-05.
Haiti: Jovenel Moise confirmed winner of presidential election.
Mr. Moise, a 48-year-old banana exporter, was elected with 55.6% of the vote, well ahead of his closest rival, an electoral tribunal confirmed.
The electoral tribunal officially declared the winner on 3 January 2017.
Jovenel Moise has been declared the winner of Haiti's November 20 presidential election, ending a protracted electoral process that has paralysed the Caribbean country's politics for more than a year.