January 5

World Book Fair held in New Delhi
The New Delhi World Book Fair (NDWBF), held for the past 46 years, is a major calendar event in the publishing world.
NDWBF 2019 is scheduled from 5 to 13 January 2019 at the centrally located Pragati Maidan, New Delhi.
The Fair is organized by National Book Trust, India, an autonomous organization of the Government of India under the Ministry of Human Resource Development.
India Trade Promotion Organization (ITPO), the nodal agency of the Government of India under the Ministry of Commerce, is the co-organizer of the Fair.
Ministry of Commerce is the co-organizer of the Fair.

January 6

The New Delhi’s World Book Fair 2019’s theme is ''Books for Readers with Special Needs''.
During the fair,International Disability Film Festival was organized for the First time where over 45 documentaries from 27 countries.
Secretary, Ministry of I&B Shri Amit Khare released seven books of Publications Division, Ministry of I&B during the World Book Fair.
7 books were released. The list of books are:
Bapukeashirwaad Original handwritten thoughts and messages of Mahatma Gandhi
2500 years of Buddhism An inclusive account of Buddhism in last 2500 years and its foreward is written by India’s 2nd President Dr. S. Radhakrishnan
Portraits of Strength The hitherto unheard, unsung women from far flung parts of India whose contribution has been hailed by the Prime Minister NarendraModi in “Mann kiBaat”.
Rang Birangi Kahaniya A quintessential children’s book
Badalki Sair A collection of short stories written for children in MunshiPremchand’s story telling style.
Aao Paryavaran Bachayenaur Dhrako Swarg Bnayen About saving the environment amidst the cross fire of development
Hindi Swadeshmeinaur Videsh Mein The coming age of Hindi language and its literature not just within the country but even beyond

January 9

Malala pens new book on refugee girls titled We are Displaced.
Nobel Peace Prize winner and Pakistani activist Malala Yousafzai is coming up with a new book, charting her experiences travelling the world and visiting refugee camps. Titled we are Displaced.
About Pakistan:
PM: Irfan khan
President: Arif Alvi

A Crusade Against Corruption: book by Manohar Manoj launched by Vice-Chairman of Rajya Sabha, Harivansh Narayan Singh in New Delhi.
Vice-Chairman of Rajya Sabha, Harivansh Narayan Singh launched Manohar Manoj's book ‘A Crusade Against Corruption’ in New Delhi.
The author has been closely monitoring the issue of corruption from various angles.

January 10

Sanjay Khan announces his second booktitled Assalamalaikum Watan on his birthday.
The book titled Assalamalaikum Watan is Khan's second book as an author post the much-acclaimed autobiography The Best Mistakes Of My Life which went on to become a bestseller this year.

January 23

Vice President of India launched the book ''Universal Brotherhood Through Yoga''
Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu launched the book ''Universal Brotherhood Through Yoga'' in New Delhi.
The book begins with the foundations, i.e., the philosophy behind all Yoga practices: The Yoga of Patanjali, the Yoga-Vashistha, the Yoga in the Bhagavad Gita, the Yoga in the Puranas, and so on.
The incorporation of story of the revival of the philosophy of Yoga by great personalities such as Swami Vivekananda, Sri Aurobindo and contemporary spiritual leaders like Sri SriRavishankar, SadhguruJaggiVasudev, ShriRamdev Baba, and others lend a unique spiritual dimension to this book.

January 27

Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award 2017: Novel Nireeshwaran by Malayalam Novelist V.J. James won the best Novel award
Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award 2017 was announced, Malayalam Novelist VJ James’s, Novel Nireeshwaran won the best novel award.
V.J. James was born in Vazhapally, Changanassery in Kottayam district of Kerala.
His debut novel was Purappadinte Pusthakam.
Other Accolades he received: DC Silver Jubilee Award, Malayattor Prize in 1999, Rotary Literary Award for Purappadinte Pusthakam, Thoppil Ravi Award, Kerala Bhasha Institute Basheer Award (2015) for Nireeshwaran.
About Kerala:
CM: Pinarayi Vijayan
Governor: Palanisamy Sathasivam