PERSONS IN NEWS - 2019 August

August 14

Advait Bhartia, a 9-year old boy from Pune recently climbed the highest peak in Africa - Mount Kilimanjaro - in a span of just 7 days. Mt. Kilimanjaro in Tanzania is about 4,900 m from its base and 5,895 m above sea level. The mountain has been the subject of many scientific studies because of its shrinking glaciers and disappearing ice fields. Advait reached the top of mountain on 31st July 2019 under the supervision of his expedition leader Samir Patham.

August 12

ISRO (Indian Space Research Organisation) has launched a year-long programmes and functions from 12 August 2019 to commemorate birth centenary of Dr. Vikram Sarabhai, founder and eminent space scientist of ISRO. Dr. Vikram Sarabhai is also known as father of Indian Space Program. Commemorative coins were unveiled during inaugural ceremony. Unique “Space on Wheels” exhibition inside bus was also held at Gujarat University Convention & Exhibition Center, in Ahmedabad. ISRO also unveiled a Coffee Table book and a photo album of on life and work of Dr. Vikram Sarabhai.