April 1

Australia launched 7 Nation Military exercise in Indian Ocean
Australia launched a seven-nation Indian Ocean military exercise along with Sri Lanka, India, Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesia and Singapore, starting in Sri Lanka where China has invested in strategic ports and loaned huge amounts to build other infrastructure.
1,000 Australian security personnel in four naval ships and a military aircraft participated in the biggest joint exercise.
The exercise is aimed to counter the growing Chinese influence in the India Ocean.
Australian forces moved to India on March 26 and thereafter travel to Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesia and Singapore before returning to Darwin after two and a half months.