SPORTS - 2019 June

June 8

Ashleigh Barty has clinched the women’s title at the 2019 French Open tennis tournament. Barty, an Australian professional tennis player and former cricketer, is the first Australian player (male or female) to win a French Open singles title since Margaret Court in 1973. The 2019 French Open was the 123rd edition of a Grand Slam tennis tournament played on outdoor clay courts.

June 6

World champion Magnus Carlsen of Norway defeated Viswanathan Anand in the Armageddon game at the Altibox Norway Chess Tournament.

June 5

In football Sunil Chhetri became the most capped player by surpassing Bhaichung Bhutia's 107 international matches. In sports, a cap is a metaphorical term for a player's appearance in a game at international level. The term dates from the practice in the United Kingdom of awarding a cap to every player in an international match of association football.  

June 2

Liverpool breezed past Tottenham at Madrid to win the Champions League for the sixth time in Football.