state - 2014 JUNE

June 1

President’s rule prevailing in the united Andhra Pradesh will be revoked partially on 2nd June to facilitate the swearing-in of a government in the newly-created Telangana State.
* President’s rule was imposed in Andhra Pradesh on March 1 after N. Kiran Kumar Reddy resigned as Chief Minister following the Parliament’s nod for bifurcation of the State to create separate Telangana.

June 2

Andhra Pradesh Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan was sworn in as the Governor of Telangana, the country’s 29th state.
* Andhra Pradesh High Court Chief Justice Kalyan Jyoti Sengupta administered the oath to Narasimhan, who will be the common Governor to Telangana and residuary Andhra Pradesh.
* Hyderabad will be the joint capital of Telangana and residuary Andhra Pradesh.

June 8

About 25 students from the VNR Vignan Jyothi, Bauchupally in Hyderabad were washed away in Beas River near Kullu in Himachal Pradesh at around 6.30 p.m.
* The incident occurred when students were taking pictures at the river bed and they were caught unawares by the gushing waters released from a dam above for power generation.
* The students were on an industrial tour and left Hyderabad on June 3.

June 10

Sirikonda Madhusudhana Chary of the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) was unanimously as the first Speaker of Telangana Assembly.
* The legislator of the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) assumed charge after pro-term speaker K. Jana Reddy announced his election.

S. Madhusudhana Chary

June 12

Padma Devender Reddy
Padma Devender Reddy, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) legislator from Medak Assembly constituency, was elected unanimously as the first Deputy Speaker of the Telangana Legislative Assembly.

June 13

The Planning Commission has said the residual Andhra Pradesh, known as Seemandhra, can’t be accorded the status of special Category State to provide extra Central aid under the current norms.
* This point is significant because the Union Cabinet headed by former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on March 2 had directed the Commission to accord special category status to the successor of Andhra Pradesh (Seemandhra) for five years.
* About according SCS to Seemandhra, the Commission pointed out to the Minister that any such proposal would have to be endorsed by the country’s apex planning body National Development Council (NDC) headed by the Prime Minister with Cabinet Ministers and all Chief Ministers on its board.
* As per the Gadgil Mukherjee formula for devolution of Central assistance for state plans, 30 per cent of the total funds is earmarked for Special Category States.
* As against the composition of Central assistance of 30 per cent grant and 70 per cent loan for major States, special category states receive 90 per cent plan assistance as grant and just 10 per cent as loan.

June 16

The braodcasting of two Telugu News channels TV9 ( Sneha Publications), ABN Andhrajyothy (Amoda Broadcasting) operating from Hyderabad have been stopped in all parts of Telangana.
* Telangana’s first Chief Minister K. Chandra Shekhar Rao has launched a castigating attack on both these channels in the Assembly itself, warning of them stringent action.

June 20

Senior Telugu Desam leader Kodela Siva Prasada Rao is expected to be declared unopposed as the first Speaker of the Andhra Pradesh Assembly post-bifurcation as his was the sole nomination to be filed.
* Dr. Siva Prasada Rao, who hails from Guntur district, has been elected from Narsaraopeta Assembly constituency for five times consecutively from 1983 to 2004.
* He won from Sattenapalli constituency in 2014 elections.

K. Siva Prasada Rao

Andhra Pradesh Minister for NRI Empowerment Palle Raghunantha Reddy has directed the Collectors of 13 districts to gather information on employees working and also caught in the crisis in Iraq.

June 23

TDP MLA Mandali Buddha Prasad was unanimously elected Deputy Speaker of Andhra Pradesh Assembly.
* His election was announced by Speaker K. Sivaprasada Rao. Prasad was a linguist, historian and editor of a journal. His father was the backbone of the first world Telugu conference in Hyderabad in 1975.

Buddha Prasad

June 24

The Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP) announced, following a review of its performance in the Lok Sabha and Assembly polls in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana, that it was granted recognition by the Election Commission of India as a State party in both the States.
* It showed that the YSRCP had fulfilled the conditions laid down in Para 6A of the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order, 1968, for recognition as a State party in the said States.
* Further, it is informed that the symbol ‘Ceiling Fan’ was allotted as a reserved symbol in AP and Telangana.
Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has been accorded recognition as the State party in both Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. The party has also been allotted ‘cycle’ symbol in both the States.
* A party release said that a letter conveying the decision was received by the party president N. Chandrababu Naidu from the Election Commission of India.

June 26

Andhra Pradesh Minister for Housing and Rural Development Kimidi Mrunalini said the State government is contemplating increasing the unit cost under the housing programme from the present Rs. 70,000 to Rs. 1.15 lakhs and for SC/STs from Rs. 1 lakh/ 1.2 lakh respectively to Rs. 1.5 lakhs.
* On name change of various housing schemes such as Rajiv Gruha Kalpa, Rajiv Swagruha, and Indiramma, she said that the government would take a decision shortly.
* Emphasising on need to control open defecation, Dr. Mrunalini said that construction of ISLs was a social responsibility and the government would sanction Rs. 10,000 to each house for its construction. This would help control contamination of drinking water sources and also diseases like jaundice, gastroenteritis, diarrhoea, cholera and etc during monsoon.

June 27

15 people were killed and 18 injured when a massive blaze raged through a village in Andhra Pradesh’s East Godavari district following a blast in an apparently leaking gas pipeline.
* The blast occurred in the pipeline carrying gas to Lanco power station. The pipeline is maintained by GAIL India.

* The Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced Rs. 2 lakh exgratia to affected families.
Government of Telangana has declared the Ashada Jatara, popular as ‘Bonalu’ a State festival.
* The same is celebrated during ‘Ashada Masam’ in nearly 115 temples across the twin cities, including the Ujjaini Mahankali Temple, Secunderabad for several decades.

June 28

On Six workers were injured when the pipes near a compressor blasted at a private pharmaceutical company near Parawada in Visakhapatnam.
* The workers of Glochem Industries received minor burns as it was not a big explosion.The cause of the blast is yet to be ascertained.

June 29

The Kamalnathan Committee for distribution of State level employees between the two successor States broadly reached a consensus on the draft guidelines in its meeting here on 30th June.
* The meeting attended by the Chief Secretaries of both Andhra Pradesh and Telangana, other State officials, and Union Government representative agreed on giving options to all the employees. The State Reorganisation Act, 2014 has made it mandatory to give options to the State level employees.