state - 2014 May

May 5

Worried with reports of engineering aspirants being taken for a ride during the web counseling process, authorities are planning to introduce a One Time Password (OTP) facility, akin to banking transactions on the web.
* This is apart from the other security measures already in place. In the new process when the students enter the website of the engineering admissions to give their college and course preference and fill in his personal details, an OTP will be sent to their registered mobile numbers. Only after entering the OTP the students will be able to enter their options.

May 8

A central-government appointed committee recommended 163 posts of IAS, 112 of IPS and 65 of Indian Forest Service (IFOS) officers for newly-formed Telangana state. The Committee also recommended 211 posts for IAS, 144 for IPS and 82 for IFOS officers for residual Andhra Pradesh.
* The composition of three all India services were recommended by a six-member committee headed by former Central Vigilance Commissioner (CVC) Pratyush Sinha in its preliminary report to the Department of Personnel and Training (DOPT).

May 9

Nedurumalli Janardhana Reddy
Former Andhra Pradesh chief minister Nedurumalli Janardhana Reddy is died. He had been undergoing treatment for neurology-related problems and the end came at 5 am. He was born on February 20, 1935 in Nellore district.
* He is a sitting Rajya Sabha member from Andhra Pradesh, served as chief minister from December, 1990 to October, 1992. He served as state minister and legislator in his long political career spanning several decades.

May 12

TDP (Telugu Desam Party) is leading in the municipal elections in Seemandhra, while the Congress is ahead in Telangana.
* In the 53 corporations in Telangana, none of the major parties got a clear mandate. The Congress was ahead in 12 municipalities, while the TRS, TDP and MIM scored in three, four and one, respectively. In the balance 33 municipalities the result was hung.
* In the 92 municipal bodies in 13 districts of Seemandhra. According to trends, the TDP is way ahead with 58 municipal bodies and the YSR Congress Party a distant second with 15.

May 14

Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan approved a hike in Dearness Allowance (DA) for government employees, including pensioners. The enhanced DA for the month of May to be paid along with the salary on May 24 will benefit 12 lakh government employees, including pensioners. The DA arrears will be deposited in the GPF account of the employees.

May 17

The TDP-BJP alliance won 106 seats and YSRCP won 67 seats, total of 175 seats in the 16th phase of Assembly Elections in Seemandhra where as Congress party did not get even single seat. In the Lok-Sabha Elections TDP-BJP alliance got 17 seats where as YSRCP won 8 seats total of 25 seats.

May 19

Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan approved the expenditure fund of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana with a budget of Rs. 34,595 crore and Rs. 26,516 crore respectively for a period of four months from June 2.
* The outlay for Andhra Pradesh includes a revenue budget of Rs. 28,626 crore and capital budget of Rs. 3,882 crore while the revenue budget and capital budget for Telangana is Rs. 21,295 crore and Rs. 3,046 crore respectively.

May 22

K. Rajendra Kumar
An Indian Police Service officer of the 1984 batch K. Rajendra Kumar appointed the Director-General of Police of Jammu and Kashmir. The appointment comes on the same day when he came under attack by militants of the Lashkar-e-Toiba eight years ago.
Mr. Kumar was born in Guntur and brought up in Nizamabad where he did his schooling, before graduating from the Loyola College, Vijayawada. He did his post-graduation from the Kakatiya University, Warangal.

May 23

The Government of India constituted a Dispute Resolution Committee (DRC) for removal of difficulties in the interpretation of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2014, by the two successor States and for resolution of disputes between them.
* The committee will be headed by Union Home Secretary with the Chief Secretaries of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana, Chairperson of Technical Support Group and Additional Secretary (CS) in the Union Ministry of Home Affairs as four members.

May 26

Teachers in Telangana have resolved to contribute their one-day basic pay to the relief fund of the new Chief Minister of Telangana. The decision was taken at a meeting of 22 different teachers’ unions which came together to form the Telangana Teachers’ Joint Action Committee (TTJAC). There were 1.50 lakh teachers in Telangana and their one-day basic pay would come to about Rs. 20 crore.
The Krishna District Writers’ Association said the Telugu University should be shifted to Seemandhra and should be located in Vijayawada, the cultural hub of the region. The university was located in Hyderabad, due importance was not given to Seemandhra literary personalities, artists and other academicians in the 100-day ‘Sataroopa -2013’ festival conducted by the university. Most of the participants were from Telangana.
* The Telugu University was established primarily as a research body on the lines of the Tamil University. But the then Chief Minister N.T. Rama Rao scrapped all the State academies and gave the Telugu University the task of being a patron of art and literature.

May 27

The Telangana Chief Minister-designate, K. Chandrasekhar Rao, opposed the ordinance on Polavaram project. The proposed ordinance would pave way for transfer of 136 villages, 211 hamlets and seven mandals of Khammam district to the successor state of Andhra Pradesh.

K. Chandrasekhar Rao

* The Telangana CM-designate argued that the boundaries could not be altered through ordinances, when two elected governments were waiting to take charge. They can be altered only after Parliament discussed it.

May 28

The President of India Sri Pranab Mukherjee appointed Shri E.S.L. Narasimhan, Governor of Andhra Pradesh, to discharge the functions of the Governor of Telangana, in addition to his own duties until a permanent arrangement is made. The above appointment will take effect from the date he assumes charge of his office. 

May 29

President Pranab Mukherjee promulgated an ordinance, on the recommendation of the Union Cabinet, for transfer of a cluster of mandals and villages in Khammam district to the successor state of Andhra Pradesh for the purpose of Polavaram project.

May 30

Laxman Aelay, the internationally recognized painter and artist, designed the new logo of Telangana. The logo of Telangana consists of the four lions, the emblem of Asoka, representing the national spirit.
* The emblem is placed on top of the iconic “Kakatiya torana”, the gateway of Kakatiya dynasty that ruled the region during 11-12th century.
* The third element in logo is the Charminar.